Cayman Islands (GB)

A crown colony of Great Britain, comprising Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, and Little Cayman, situated about halfway between Jamaica and the southeast coast of Cuba, contains 102 square miles (264 square kilometers). The population of these islands is approximately 28,000 of whom about 27,000 live on Grand Cayman. The islands were probably named from the caymans (American alligators, genus Caiman ) that were numerous in Little Cayman and Cayman Brac. These islands were settled mainly by English people from Jamaica, and until Jamaica became independent in 1962, they were regarded as its dependency. Seventh-day Adventist Statistics. The Cayman Islands form the Cayman Islands Mission, a part of the West Indies Union Conference, which in turn is part of the Inter-American Division. Statistics (199...

From the Seventh-day Adventist Encyclopedia. Published with permission from the Review and Herald Publishing Association.

Vertical Tabs

United Kingdom