Eastern Africa Division (Harare, ZW)

A large unit of church organization to which is allotted the following territory: Botswana, Djibouti, Eritica, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Somalia, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe. Statistics (1992): churches, 4,872; members, 1,106,988; church or elementary schools, 299; ordained ministers, 639; licensed ministers, 512; teachers, 424. Headquarters: Harare, Zimbabwe. Official organ: Eastern Africa Division Outlook. The division was organized in 1970 as the Afro-Mideast Division and reorganized as the Eastern Africa Division in 1981 and 1983, with 240,311 members in 1,249 churches. See Afro-Mideast Division . Constituent organizations. The Eastern Africa Division is comprised of seven union missions and three fields: 1. East African Union Mission (organized 1921; reorganized 1960, 1987) Terr...

From the Seventh-day Adventist Encyclopedia. Published with permission from the Review and Herald Publishing Association.

Vertical Tabs