(formerly Nyasaland). An East African country independent since July 6, 1964. A British protectorate from 1891 to 1953, it was then made a part of the Federation of the Rhodesias and Nyasaland, a political union that continued 10 years. The country is bounded on the north and east by Tanzania, on the east, south, and west by Mozambique, and on the west by Zambia. With an area of 45,747 square miles (118,500 square kilometers), it supports a total population (1994) of 9.7 million. It took the name of Malawi after the independence date in 1964. On July 6, 1966, the country became a republic. Malawi is mostly agricultural, and has only a few light industries. Four main crops—cotton, peanuts, tea, and tobacco—account for 90 percent of the country’s exports. Sugar, rubber, coffee, and soy...

From the Seventh-day Adventist Encyclopedia. Published with permission from the Review and Herald Publishing Association.

Vertical Tabs