New Zealand (NZ)

A constitutional monarchy in the Southwest Pacific; it recognizes the reigning British monarch as its sovereign. The British crown is represented in New Zealand by the governor-general, whom the queen appoints after consultation with the New Zealand government. The country consists of two main islands about 1,300 miles (2,100 kilometers) southeast of Australia, with an area of 103,736 square miles (268,676 square kilometers). Adjacent to the South Island is Stewart Island, 670 square miles (1,740 square kilometers). There are also several minor islands and dependencies. The population (1994) is 3.3 million, 85 percent of whom are of European extraction, and 9 percent of whom are Polynesian, mostly Maoris. Education is integrated ethnically, is compulsory, and is provided free by the state....

From the Seventh-day Adventist Encyclopedia. Published with permission from the Review and Herald Publishing Association.

Vertical Tabs

New Zealand