Nigeria (NG)

An African federation, it won independence on Oct. 1, 1960, and became a republic in October 1963. Nigeria is bounded on the south by the Gulf of Guinea, on the east by Chad and the Cameroon republic, on the north by Niger, and on the west by Benin. The country, with its capital at Abuja, consists of 30 states and the federal capital territory of Abuja. Nigeria’s area is 356,669 square miles (923,773 square kilometers). The most populous state on the continent, it has an estimated population (1994) of more than 98 million, 50 percent of whom are Muslims, mainly in the north, and 40 percent are Christians. The rest are chiefly animists. During the eighteenth century as many as 100,000 slaves a year were shipped through the ports along the Nigerian coast. Agriculture is the principal occup...

From the Seventh-day Adventist Encyclopedia. Published with permission from the Review and Herald Publishing Association.

Vertical Tabs