A country made up of the eastern half of the island generally known as New Guinea (the western half is part of Indonesia and is known as West Irian or Irian Jaya), and several groups of islands, the Schoutens, the Western Islands, the Bismarck Archipelago, Bougainville, the Trobriands, Woodlark, the D’Entrecasteaux, and the Louisiade Archipelago as well as a number of smaller islands. The country of Papua New Guinea became self-governing on Dec. 1, 1973, and became an independent nation in 1975. Papua, the southeastern portion of the island of New Guinea, was a territory of Australia, and until World War II was administered as a colony by Australia. From 1884 until World War I the northeastern portion of New Guinea, along with the Bismarck Archipelago, Bougainville, and several other isl...

From the Seventh-day Adventist Encyclopedia. Published with permission from the Review and Herald Publishing Association.

Vertical Tabs

Papua New Guinea