A republic occupying the Philippine archipelago lying off the southeast coast of the Asian continent between the South China Sea and the Pacific Ocean. There are about 7,100 islands in the group, whose total area is 115,831 square miles (300,000 square kilometers). The two largest islands, Luzon in the north, and Mindanao in the south, account for about two thirds of the area. Other large islands in order of size are Samar, Negros, Palawan, Panay, Mindoro, Leyte, Cebu, Bohol, and Masbate. The population of the country (1994) is 69.8 million. The Filipinos, who belong to the Malay race, constitute the overwhelming majority of the population; however, there are small but important groups of Chinese, Indians, and Europeans. Filipino and English are the official languages of the country; besid...

From the Seventh-day Adventist Encyclopedia. Published with permission from the Review and Herald Publishing Association.

Vertical Tabs