South Africa (ZA)

An independent republic occupying the most southerly part of Africa. The country is bounded on the north by Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, and Mozambique; on the west by the Atlantic Ocean; and on the south and east by the Indian Ocean. The area is 472,359 square miles (1,223,420 square kilometers), with a heterogenous population (1994) of 44 million. The main languages include Afrikaans, English, Ndebele, North Sesotho, South Sesotho, Sauzi, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa, and Zulu. The main churches are Dutch Reformed, Anglican, Roman Catholic, Islamic, Hindu, Black Independent, Presbyterian, and Apostolic groups. South Africa, the most highly industrialized country in Africa, produces a large assortment of various manufactures. Mining likewise holds an important place in the national econom...

From the Seventh-day Adventist Encyclopedia. Published with permission from the Review and Herald Publishing Association.

Vertical Tabs

South Africa