Southeastern Union Conference (US)

A former North American administrative unit comprising the following local conferences: Cumberland, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, and South Carolina. Headquarters were first in Atlanta, Georgia, then from 1920 in Chattanooga, Tennessee. The official organ was Field Tidings. This union conference was organized in January 1908 from part of the territory of the Southern Union Conference. Beginning in 1910, there was a union mission department for Blacks, and thereafter the various conferences had their own such missions (or departments, or committees). These might be considered the forerunners of the later South Atlantic Conference. In 1932 the Southern and Southeastern union conferences recombined to be called the Southern Union Conference. Presidents: W. A. Westworth, 1908-1909; Charles...

From the Seventh-day Adventist Encyclopedia. Published with permission from the Review and Herald Publishing Association.

Vertical Tabs

United States