Southern Asia Division (Jeevan Jyothi, Hosur, IN)

A large unit of church organization to which is allotted the territory of the Andaman and Nicobar islands, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, and Nepal. Statistics (1992): churches, 920; members, 190,177; schools, 185; ordained ministers, 373; licensed ministers, 167; teachers, 2,243. Headquarters: Jeevan Jyothi, Hosur, Tamil Nadu, India. Official organ: Southern Asia Tidings. The territory was first organized in 1910 as the India Union Mission, then as a part of the Asiatic Division from 1915 to 1918. It was reorganized in 1919 as a separate union, and then in 1920 it became the Southern Asia Division, with 26 churches and 978 members. In the division year-end meetings of 1970 a major reorganization realigned the unions of India. The division territory was again realigned in 1986, when Banglade...

From the Seventh-day Adventist Encyclopedia. Published with permission from the Review and Herald Publishing Association.

Vertical Tabs

Jeevan Jyothi Hosur