Sudan (SD)

A republic in northeastern Africa bordered by Egypt on the north, the Red Sea, Ethiopia, and Eritrea on the east, Kenya, Uganda, and Zaïre on the south, and Libya, Chad, and the Central African Republic on the west. Its area is 966,757 square miles (2.5 million square kilometers), and its population (1994) 29.4 million. Arabic is the official language of the country, but in the south various African dialects are spoken, and English is widely used. Ethnically the people range gradually from predominantly Arabic-speaking Egyptian types in the north to the dark-skinned African types in the south. Religious ties generally follow geographical lines: the Muslims, divided among several sects, represent 70 percent of the population and live in the north and central provinces; and animists and fer...

From the Seventh-day Adventist Encyclopedia. Published with permission from the Review and Herald Publishing Association.

Vertical Tabs