Tanzania (TZ)

An African republic, a federation created in 1964 by the union of Tanganyika (independent since 1961) and Zanzibar and Pemba (independent since 1963). It has an area of 364,900 square miles (000,000 square kilometers) and a population (1994) of 29.8 million. Tanganyika , on the African mainland, is bounded on the north by Kenya and Uganda, on the east by the Indian Ocean, on the south by Mozambique, Malawi, and Zambia, and on the west by Burundi, Rwanda, and the two great lakes, Tanganyika and Victoria. It was explored by Livingstone and Stanley after Stanley brought relief to that missionary at the town of Ujiji, on the eastern shore of Lake Tanganyika. The country was a German colony (German East Africa) from 1891 to 1919, then a territory mandated by the League of Nations to Great Brita...

From the Seventh-day Adventist Encyclopedia. Published with permission from the Review and Herald Publishing Association.

Vertical Tabs