Yemen (YE)

A republic on the southern coast of the Arabian Peninsula, including the island of Socotra. It is bounded on the north by Saudi Arabia and on the east by Oman. It has a total area of approximately 205,356 square miles (531,872 square kilometers) and a population (1994) of 11 million. Most of the people are Muslims. The country became independent on Nov. 30, 1967, after 129 years of British rule. It was made up of two nations prior to May 21, 1990: the People’s Democratic Republic of Yemen and the Yemen Arab Republic. The port of Aden has been the area’s most valuable natural resource, with thousands of ships putting in for refueling, servicing, and transshipment of goods. As a result of the reorganization of the Middle East Division in 1970, Yemen was assigned to the Middle East Union ...

From the Seventh-day Adventist Encyclopedia. Published with permission from the Review and Herald Publishing Association.

Vertical Tabs