A republic in southeastern Europe. It borders Hungary on the north, Romania and Bulgaria on the east, Macedonia and Albania on the south, and the Adriatic Sea, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Croatia on the west. It has an area of 39,449 square miles (102,000 square kilometers) and a population (1994) of approximately 10 million, mainly Serbian, Montenegrin, and Albanian. The official language is Serbo-Croatian; Macedonian, Hungarian, and Albanian are also spoken. The main religion is Serbian Orthodox. The South Slavs (mainly Serbs, Croats, Macedonians, Montenegrins, and Slovenes), who form the major part of the population of Yugoslavia (literally, “the land of the South Slavs”), migrated from the east into what is now Yugoslavia about the sixth century A.D. Under the influence of the Fran...

From the Seventh-day Adventist Encyclopedia. Published with permission from the Review and Herald Publishing Association.

Vertical Tabs