Zaire (CD)

An independent African state, the former Belgian colony of the Congo, but independent since June 30, 1960 (not to be confused with its smaller neighbor, Congo). It is bounded by the Atlantic Ocean, Cabinda, the Congo (Brazzaville), the Central African Republic, Sudan, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Tanzania, Zambia, and Angola. It has an area of 905,563 square miles (2.3 million square kilometers) and an estimated population (1994) of 42.6 million. Seventy percent of the people are Christians, 10 percent are Muslims, and the rest animists. Most of the people live by agriculture and timber. The country is rich in minerals, exporting large quantities of copper, diamonds, gold, zinc, and uranium. The population of Zaïre is made up of more than 200 African tribes, mostly of Bantu origin. The early ...

From the Seventh-day Adventist Encyclopedia. Published with permission from the Review and Herald Publishing Association.

Vertical Tabs

Congo (Kinshasa)