Functional subdivisions of the denominational work on various administrative levels. In the General Conference there were, in 1994, seven departments and 31 services, corporations, and other organizations. In their respective territories, each division, union, conference, and mission also has departments in the same or similar categories, working under their respective executive committees but with the aid and guidance of the General Conference departments. For the departments and their various spheres of service, see General Conference Departments ; also names of specific departments.

From the Seventh-day Adventist Encyclopedia. Published with permission from the Review and Herald Publishing Association.