A term used in Seventh-day Adventist Church organization in several senses: 1. Formerly (1889–1901), one of the six (later eight) areas called General Conference Districts, each comprising several conferences and/or missions, which were under the leadership of a superintendent. These districts, designated generally by number, though sometimes by name (such as No. 1, Atlantic; No. 2, Southern; etc.), were replaced by union conferences. See Organization, III, 2 ; IV, 2 . 2. A group of neighboring churches served by one minister but not otherwise considered a unit. 3. An administrative unit smaller than or subordinate to a mission, a field, or a union, under a director, with whom may be associated a group of other ministers and/or missionaries. Such a district may comprise the area of an en...

From the Seventh-day Adventist Encyclopedia. Published with permission from the Review and Herald Publishing Association.