Middle East Union Mission

A unit of the Seventh-day Adventist Church that was a part of the Afro-Mideast Division until 1981 when it became an attached union under the General Conference. Because of civil war in Lebanon, the headquarters were moved to Nicosia, Cyprus. The Middle East Union is organized into five fields: East Mediterranean (Lebanon, Syria, Jordan), Egypt, Iran, Iraq, and Sudan, and three sections: Cyprus, Gulf (Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, United Arab Emirates), and Turkey. There are 71 churches in the union with 8,085 members. The population is 278 million. Headquarters are at Nicosia, Cyprus. Institutions. Amman Adventist Secondary School (Jordan); Amman Care Home (Jordan); Adventist Health Education Foundation (Egypt); Boushrieh Adventist Secondary School (Lebanon); Middle East College (Lebanon)...

From the Seventh-day Adventist Encyclopedia. Published with permission from the Review and Herald Publishing Association.